The Joys of Texas Deep Sea Fishing

There is nothing quite like the exhilaration of deep sea fishing in Texas. It is like no other fishing trip where you might simply land a mackerel or a trout. You are out to wrestle with large fish that lives in the darkness well below the surface of the ocean and if you are lucky you might catch a lantern fish or a huge specimen with an exotic name like a flashlight fish,cookie cutter shark, bristle mouth, humpback angler fish or a viper fish. The very names send a shiver down your spine and give you a slight idea of what you are up against. There are several places to book such a trip from Galveston to Port Aransas. The most popular area, and my personal favorites are in the lower Gulf and one of many Port Aransas attractions. These favorites I speak of are fishing charters in Port Aransas. Click here to view one of many great Port Aransas charters.

Deep Sea Fishing in Texas is A Unique Experience

I had only fished off the beach or been out in a small charter boat with a party of anglers with a single rod and line so I knew to experience my first deep sea fishing I had to go with an experienced skipper who would show me the ropes and guide me through the process. I did not expect to catch anything on my first trip but the thrill of expectation was there without the fear of getting myself into trouble. My expectations were wrong, I caught several fish that I could have only dreamed of.  I was told Texas was the best place to start and my first experience proved to be right about that. I have posted several videos in this article to give you an idea of what I experienced.

My Favorite Out of All Port Aransas Attractions

Port Aransas is a small town, in fact the only town, on Mustang Island in the Gulf of Mexico and it was a favorite haunt of smugglers in the early 19th Century. The locals believe there is still a pirate treasure chest buried there but although many people have searched for the silver dagger that is supposed to mark the spot no-one has ever found it.

I chose Port Aransas in case I did not enjoy my first deep sea fishing experience as it has lovely beaches and you can even go sky diving there. One of the most popular places to visit is the Leonabelle Turnbull Birding Center where you can walk along a boardwalk over open water and watch the turtles, fish, pelicans and ducks. They even lent me a pair of binoculars as I had left mine in my condo. But I had come to go fishing in Texas so that had to be my main priority.

Fishing Charters In Port Aransas

After doing some research online, several reviews steered me to Dolphin Dock fishing charters in Cotter Avenue as they will take all standards of fishermen out from beginners to experienced deep sea anglers. If you are on your own they will slot you in to a group at a similar level to yourself and their trips last from five hours to 24 hours although the five hour trips only take place in the summer months when you go out from 3.30pm to 8.30pm. They usually start beginners off with a four hour bay fishing trip leaving at 8am and returning at 1pm to see how they like it before venturing further out.

All the equipment you need for deep sea fishing is provided by the charter company but they advise to take plenty of sunscreen and insect repellent and wear sunglasses and a hat. The glare from the sea burns you quicker than on land. I wore shorts and a T-shirt but you can wear a swimming costume if you want and deck shoes and you should bring plenty of water to keep you hydrated.

Summarizing Port Aransas Fishing Trips

There are plenty of opportunities to go deep sea fishing in Port Aransas especially round the Fisherman’s Wharf area. You can even walk on to a boat without booking if space is available although it is best to book. I went on a catamaran from there and saw someone catch a beautiful six foot sailfish weighing 170 lbs. and on the same trip a lady caught a 129 lb. spinner shark. Can you, or have you ever imagined doing such a thing? My first time was not my last. I can thoroughly recommend deep sea fishing as part of your bucket list, especially in Port Aransas. Once you have done it you will never want to fish from on land ever again.

Leave a Reply

